1 Comment

Thanksgiving 2016 C.I. Jam

IMG_6583November 25-27, 2016

Thanksgiving 2016 C.I. Jam

@ Gracewood Studio / 4920 NE 55th / 97218

drop, drool, dally, delight, discover…….   Treat yourself  to 2 & ½ days of dancing!!

The substance and trajectory of dance times will be designed by those present. Bring your curiosity, desire, intention, questions, scores, instruments…….. etc. to offer up and collaborate with.

In addition to an open studio for dancing, scheduled dancing times are-

Friday

10-12

2-4

7-10

Saturday  

10-1

4-7  (the regular Saturday Class/Jam time that will be honored as such and included in the event)

8-10

Sunday

10-1

Food will be improvised and potluck. Kitchen available, stores close-by.

Bring towel for hot tub.  No fragrances please!

Housing is not available on site, but probably easy to locate via either Portland Contact Improvisation or Sacred Circle Dance Community – Ecstatic Dance in PDX facebook pages or airbnb.com

$55-$88 sliding scale for part or all of the event. 20% of proceeds go to Standing Rock

Space is limited. Please commit by preregistering! To do so use the Donate  button (to the right on this page) or send check to Carolyn Stuart / 4920 NE 55th / Portland, OR / 97218

Questions? Email touchmonk@yahoo.com or call 971-334-4599

One comment on “Thanksgiving 2016 C.I. Jam

  1. from Lacey Reuter re: thanksgiving weekend jam

    Carolyn, you had asked for some words to describe the experience from this weekend.
    Here are few thoughts that come to mind,…
    Most of the time when I am interacting with people I feel like their eyes are glazed over and I’m talking to robots. Then I shut down and go into robot mode as well. Most of the time I feel like there is a wall between myself and whoever I’m interacting with. It is alienating and lonely. Contact improv is helping me to break down the walls and experience authentic interaction. I’m learning that when human beings drop their defensive walls, they are actually pretty easy to love and connect to. I felt so much love and warmth between myself and the people that I danced with over the weekend. There is so much sweetness and innocence at our core.
    I found that dancing with three or more people at once was particularly profound. It felt as though we were merging into some kind of collective organism, existing in a state of flow and beautiful harmony. So natural, so effortless. Really life changing.
    I am realizing how deeply I have internalized the societal values of the culture I come from, and how these values have prevented me from forming truly intimate and loving friendships. Thanks to dance, I’m slowly learning to purge this programming and connect to people in a more natural, more loving, more nurturing way. It is incredibly empowering.
    I am so grateful to both of you for your support in helping me to open up to this new way of existing in the world. I can’t wait for another retreat!

Leave a Reply

